Skip to content

Blogspot or WordPress?

20/05/2009

I originally started my blog at Google’s Blogspot (or Blogger) as I always use Google for search, I have a Google g-mail account and I’m a fan of YouTube which is owned by Google (Google bought YouTube for US$1.65 billion don’t cha know).

However, now that I’ve been on there a while and I’ve learnt a lot more about blogs and e-mail … I’m actually quite disappointed with the results.

Blogger (or Blogspot … which the hell is it?!) is veeeery easy to use and looks very polished but it has a very low amount of support.

Take statistics for example. Anyone who writes a blog wants to know if people are reading it. I did this in Google by adding a third-party page view counter, which you can see in the top right there (if you’re on the Blogger version!). However, this counts a view each time I come to the site to post. It also doesn’t show any other info like which posts are more popular and when people visited.

Because of this, I started to shop around. I had used WordPress as an author as the Hot Pyjama Productions blog I contribute to is hosted on WordPress. As it happens, WordPress has a wealth of built-in tools for measuring statistics, a lot more customisable themes and layouts and a lot of extra nifty features like an option to respond to a comment via e-mail so you don’t even have to head to the site to reply to viewer’s comments.

So, with the click on a button, I imported by Blogspot/Blogger blog into WordPress and I’m away!

If you’re on blogger.com reading this post, you will find all my new posts on https://lincolnnz.wordpress.com

If you’re on WordPress reading this … no further action is required!

Bye bye blogger.

Update:

Now that I’ve been on WordPress for a short while, I can re-confirm that WordPress is far better. Even just in terms of views. I had 10 views on the first day of putting up the WordPress blog and the number just keeps on rising. The only time my blogspot blog attracted any attention was when I slandered the Miss Christchurch, NZ beauty contest!

I keep coming back to the stats though. Any online contributer worth their salt should recognise the importance of keeping an eye on their stats.

Blogspot = no stats.

End of story.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark Lincoln permalink*
    20/05/2009 5:16 am

    P.S. I really should do something about this small font though! I’m getting there.

  2. 20/05/2009 10:24 am

    Does Blogger put unwanted ads on people’s blogs? That was certainly a criticism with Live Hournal.

  3. Mark Lincoln permalink*
    20/05/2009 9:17 pm

    No not at all. That was a good thing about Blogger. There were no ads and I didn’t ever have any spam. You can easily add Google’s adsense to it as well, if you want to draw some revenue from your blog.

    My Blogger blog was at http://lincolnnz.blogspot.com

  4. rgoodchild permalink
    06/06/2009 9:51 am

    I love my wordpress blogs. I
    ve actually moved them off it then moved them back. I’m wordpress addicted 🙂

  5. Mark Lincoln permalink*
    07/06/2009 11:27 pm

    Good to hear it! I’ve become a bit of an advocate for WordPress.

    Having started with Blogger (Blogspot), I was even more impressed with what WordPress can offer that Blogspot can’t.

    I’m surprised Google aren’t more up to date with their blogging platform.

  6. Olivia SCOTT permalink
    23/04/2010 12:03 pm

    Indeed nice article as for me. It would be great to read more concerning this theme. Thank you for sharing that data.
    Olivia SCOTT

Leave a Reply

